Skip to main content

wireless starting from scratch

More
16 years 2 months ago #26759 by dougal
hi all
some help needed please . a complete novice.
im helping fitting a belgin wireless router and and usb dongle to a friends computer to link in an upstairs computer.
dosent seem to be much on the disk ,just the manual -all 80 pages of it.iwas expecting the software?.

i have the upstairs computer at mine to do some other work on it so i thought id check the dongle bit, but it asks for the software but says it cant find it on the disk .

i know computers inside out but this looks a nightmare.

can i leave the existing broadband modem connected?

regards
dougal
More
16 years 2 months ago #26774 by TheBishop
Hello dougal
Strange that the drives for the dongle aren't on the supplied disk. But no matter; you can still do it.
Do a google search for 'xxxxx drivers download' or something similar, where xxxxx is the exact make/model of your dongle. Find a suitable downoad location then get the one(s) for the operating system you're running. You should then be able to follow the installation instructions for the dongle but point the wizard/install program to the location of these files instead.
Sort out the dongle first and get that installed and apparently working, then post back here and we'll address the wireless router side of things. A good test that it is working is if it can see any wiireless networks in your neighbourhood
More
16 years 2 months ago #26777 by dougal
thanks for your reply Bishop
i did manage to download and install the dongle drivers from belkin last night,
and there must be some communication because a bt sign has come into the remote upstairs computer but not much else.
a small tv screen crossed out, has appeared in the taskbar.
seems as though bt and belkin may be conflicting.
reading through similar posts, the procedure for setting up the router is to connect to an ip address and a wizard will do the business,and not use the bt modem at all,