Skip to main content

Ipcop and winscp3

More
18 years 4 months ago #14380 by ceasario
Ipcop and winscp3 was created by ceasario
Hi, Im new to ipcop (and linux) and would be grateful for your help. Ive successfully set ipcop up and can access the net but I cannot remotely access the ipcop box. SSH is enabled but I cannot figure out what my ipcop address is or how to find it. I loaded all the default settings.

I've tried 192.168.0.1 192.168.8.2 etc but the connection is always timed out.

The setup is modem to ipcop to hub to green and hub to orange.

Login on winscp is root password and port 222 but Hostname wont get me anywhere.

Thanks for your assistance
More
18 years 4 months ago #14383 by DaLight
Replied by DaLight on topic Re: Ipcop and winscp3
Welcome to firewall.cx, ceasario.

When you say you can access your ipcop remotely, do you mean from the internet? I ask this question, because the addresses you typed are not routable over the internet.
Have you been able to access the ipcop from the GREEN network? You should be able to do this by typing in the IP address for your IPCOP's GREEN NIC. You will also need to access the SYSTEM\SSH ACCESS menu and tick the "Allow password based authentication" checkbox.

To access your IPCOP remotely, you will need to find out the IP address of your IPCOP's RED NIC. This will depend on whether your modem is working in bridged or NAT mode, and whether you have a statically or dynamically assigned public IP address from your ISP.

Let us have the answers to the above questions.
More
18 years 4 months ago #14402 by ceasario
Replied by ceasario on topic IPcop and Winscp3
Thank you for the reply.

I am unable to access ipcop from the green network ( 192.168.1.1). I get the error message server unexpectedly closed network connection. Both ssh and password authentication are checked. What I'd like to be able to do is access ipcop from the green network to add a module.