Skip to main content

Extended Star

More
16 years 3 months ago #26337 by owex
Extended Star was created by owex
Hello

I have been given the task of proposing a network for a business with 5 departments.

Four departments are in a main building with a telephone connection for access to the internet while the last department is in a building around 120s away.

86nodes over 5 departments.

I'm thinking i should implement a extended star network but alittle uncertain.

I'm fairly new to networking so this is bugging me :(
:D
More
16 years 3 months ago #26339 by ikon
Replied by ikon on topic Re: Extended Star
Your main concern should be the link bewteen the buildings, and evaluating the type of traffic accross that link, there is only 1 department in the remote building, which does not neccessarly mean that the traffic will be low, for instance CAD/ Solidworks user can use a lot of bandwidth, on top of Web access.

Where are the file servers/Mail server located etc.

You might want to think of redundancy between the sites. a DSL connection with IPSEC VPN tunnel and or Fixed link or even 2 DSL connections with VPN backup.

Gather all your information and make the best possible analysis, we are here to help so post back your requirements with more detail.

Thanks
More
16 years 3 months ago #26343 by owex
Replied by owex on topic reply
Thanks for responding, below is the specification i have been given.

FD Fabrications Network

A new business, FD Fabrications & Training, is to be set up on an industrial site on an old airfield in Norfolk. The main part of the business will be housed in a large single storey building but there will be a Test Centre in a separate building situated 120m away. The main building has a standard BT telephone connection.

The business will have rooms that will need to be equipped with networked PC’s and printers as follows:

Room Computers Total : 75 / Printers Total:11
Administration 11 / 3
Multimedia 16 / 3
Design 22 / 3
Training 8 / 1