Skip to main content

Help in opening port 102

More
18 years 2 months ago #15556 by Jayvee
Hi, I'm a newbie with routers and firewalls. My boss doesn't want to hire competent person to minimize cost. I do however have little knowledge about firewall and router. Our firewall is CISCO PIX 515E and router is Cisco 2610.

MY problem is that, we have a exchange server 5.5 and its connected to our main office abroad. The guys there are requesting me to open port 102 for the X400 connection. I am asking them how and they replied that I should know. I told them that I'm a newbie and they just laughed.

Any help will be appreciated. Plus any advice that you can give me regarding books to read to easily and quickly learn about the routers and firewalls. Thank you in advance. God Bless.
More
18 years 2 months ago #15566 by ramasamy
Replied by ramasamy on topic opening port 102
Hi Jayvee,

PIX is not that much hard to learn. I can help you for opening port. Just give me the diagram of your network or give answers to the below mentioned questions. So that I can give you the commands and you can apply it on your firewall.

• Where is your Exchange server?
• Is it in your Inside network or It is in the DMZ.
• How they are going to access the Exchange server over internet
Is it a native traffic or site to site VPN?
• Have you done one to one NAT (Static) for your exchange server with the Public IP?
More
18 years 2 months ago #15569 by Jayvee
Replied by Jayvee on topic Re: Help in opening port 102
hi ramasamy, thank you for providing me with hope. :)

with regards to your questions, like i said i'm new with routers and firewalls but i will try to answer them.

• Where is your Exchange server? our exchange server is located in our office (philippines) it is connected to our head office via x400.

• Is it in your Inside network or It is in the DMZ. our exchange is in our inside network.

• How they are going to access the Exchange server over internet