Skip to main content

setting up a DMZ

More
18 years 3 months ago #14849 by deepineyez
setting up a DMZ was created by deepineyez
hi,

can someone help me setup a dmz . i need to create a dmz to place a ftp server in it with will be communicating with another ftp server connected over a isdn cloud to upload and download files .

i would like to place the ftp server in dmz so it will not interfere with my runtime network and it is risk free from outside world.

i am planning to buy a netscreen 5gt firewall for the purpose.

i need to know how would be the security policies be configured. Is it need to give IP restriction or selected ports to be restricted or both

regards
More
18 years 3 months ago #14855 by donanak
Replied by donanak on topic Re:setting up a DMZ
Hi Deepineyez

First of all I'm a newbie myself and hope my little knowledge here would help. Perhaps someone else could add more to it later for you.

I do not know how your network is setup and you didn't mention it, but most network do have the following sequence:

Internet => Firewall/Gateway =>
    => Green
    => Orange (DMZ) (your FTP server)
    => etc

This is a small quote from ipcop forum and it helped me, you can follow this to get your server running in no time. Quote:
Orange (meaning your FTP server) Mantra:

. Orange must be on a separate physical wire from Green (not on same hub/switch)
. Orange must be on a separate logical subnet.
. Orange cannot send nor respond to ICMP. (ie., PING).
. Orange must always use ISP DNS for name resolution.
. Orange must always point to the firewall/gateway Orange interface as its gateway.
. Orange can be accessed from Green ONLY by it's internal IP address, *I've learnt you can VPN aswell.
. Orange cannot access Green unless pinholes are opened on firewall/gateway.
. Orange can be port-forwarded to in exactly the same manner as Green.