Skip to main content

NAT in Windows 2003 Server

More
15 years 11 months ago #27625 by kwiki
Hi! Newbie here :)

I have a problem with my Windows 2003 server.

Win 2003 Server ip
Lan1: 192.168.1.3/24
Lan2: 192.168.0.2/27

I want to access my files in my server(192.168.1.13/24) in lan1 using my ip in lan2 (192.168.0.13/27).

Is this possible?
More
15 years 11 months ago #27645 by KiLLaBeE
You may need to enable the routing and remote access role on the server but if I understand you correctly, then yes, you'd be able to do this.

When the server receives the request from a computer on LAN2 from NIC2 to access a resource on LAN2, the server will look in its built-in routing table (and use its routing capabilities) to determine how to reach the destination (192.168.1.13). It'll see that NIC1 is in that subnet so it'll send the request out that NIC. The routing table for this should already exist.

My network is setup in a similar manner except I use classful IP addresses.

I'm open for corrections in case I'm slightly off on something (of very off on something)
More
15 years 11 months ago #27646 by kwiki
I already did that but it did not solve my problem. Maybe I mis-configure the routing settings of my server.. The nic1 is the one I configured to have an access to internet and I also set the ip of Nic1 as the gateway of my NIC2 but nothing happen. :(
More
15 years 11 months ago #27655 by KiLLaBeE