Skip to main content

Network in place but with issues...

More
17 years 5 months ago #20542 by daphnie96757
I am new to networking and have been asked to figure out how to fix the issues here where I work. I have tried various things but to no avail and am in need of major help.

First I'm not sure of why but they set the network on a 193.100.1.0 scope. Then when they ran out of IP addresses they put in a linksys router and configured it with a 193.100.4.0 IP address. Now that might seem as if it will work but it doesn't. Because the linksys router is handing out the DHCP. Which means that in order for me to remote to any of the devices on the linksys router I have to log into the domain controller.

Second I have to set up duplicate servers on each link in order to issue updates. This is a waste of resources when I know that there is a fix for this.

Here is what I have tried:

I put the linksys router in bridge mode, created a super scope and added a persistant route. The best I could get was out to the internet but could not use any of the companies resources. I have spent hours reaching this and just as many in trial and error. But I still end up restoring the configuration that is currently in place.

If someone has any suggestion please enlighten me.

Thank You for reading and or responding.
More
17 years 5 months ago #20543 by smitherton
so have you used all 254 address? If so you could just as easily implement a new addressing scheme,

[code:1]
network address:10.0.0.0
fist usable address:10.0.0.1
last usable address:10.0.1.254
broadcast address: 10.0.1.255
subnet mask:255.255.254.0
[/code:1]

OR

You can use a windows server machine with three network cards to route between the two networks and the internet.

OR

You can purchase a router on ebay (for a reasonable price) and set it up to do the same as the windows box.

Let me know if one of these solutions will work and I will be happy to go into further detail.
More