Skip to main content

IPcop and internal FTP server

More
17 years 9 months ago #18589 by Papcina
hi there guys,
im total newbie to this site so Id like to ask u to help me
okay, i have Ipcop 1.4.11 machine which is on the ip 192.168.1.1
it has enabled dhcp starting from 192.168.1.100-199
the ipcop machine is connected to ADSL internet, and the adsl IP is registered at dyndns.org dynamic IP service, which works fine...
next... in the LAN I have few computers which r all on the same subnet and different IP's assgined by ipcop dhcp... on 192.168.1.99 is the Siemens SE555 wlan router with an usb stick in it which acts as an file server... so, i dont get it, how to make it work when sumone types in, lets say: papcina.dyndns.org he gets on that file server allocated on 192.168.1.99 and browses the files on the USB stick...
wot exactly should i do? I tried portfwdin, and other stuff but none worked... plz anyone help me cos its a bit urgent.. thanks
More
17 years 9 months ago #18592 by DaLight
Welcome to firewall.cx, Papcina. I see you're only interested in using the file-sharing functionality of your Siemens SE555. From your post, it seems as if you're using another ADSL modem for internet access. You could just as well setup a spare PC and use it as a file server.

Anyway, if you insist on doing it this way, here are a few thoughts:

1. The file server (in the Siemens SE555) acts like a Windows file server (it's probably based on SAMBA) This means that if you want to use it over the internet, people will have to forward the relevant ports for Windows networking, which in turn will require you to use a VPN if you want any security.
2. You're probably best off using the built-in Web server functionality. This will still allow internet users to access files on your USB device, but you will only need to port forward port 80.

Now here comes the warning: